3D Design – Introduction to Cinema 4D

3D Design, Computer, design, Digital Art, U34_U51

I used Cinema 4D in my Digital Design class for the first time. I was taught how to build and create basic shapes and render texture as well as create light and shadow in an environment. We created a table in our first lesson by resizing and moving some basic cubes into a table shape. The tables we were using at the time would act as our model reference.

Screen Shot 2014-11-06 at 15.35.50

You can go to multi view mode by clicking on the tiny window icon on the top right of the current modelling window.

 

By clicking on the blue object icon on the right of the row of icons along the top, I was able to create a basic cube. Then, by switching and playing around with the selection and editing tools on the left of the row, I was able to make the cubes into long cuboids for the legs. I was also able to create the table top by flattening the cube and elongating it length ways. The resizing tool allows me to click and drag the coloured arrows and blocks that appear around the object and adjust the dimensions of the object.

I then applied texture to the table by going to the lower half of the program and went to Create and chose one of the many material defaults. I then went to the editing box on the lower right hand corner and played around with the settings to fine-tune the texture. I then click and dragged the texture onto the object that I wanted to apply it to in the layers section above it (kind of like in Photoshop).

After the table itself was mostly finished, I added a light source to the area by selecting the default lighting in the lightbulb icon at the end of the row of icons along the top. I then used the Move tool to relocate the light source so that it shined above the table at an angle. I also created a dimmer light on the opposite side of the table to suggest the reflective light and to make the object look more natural. You can adjust the opacity by going to the settings box on the bottom right hand side of the program. To add shadows, I simply ticked the Shadow box in the light properties section.

Table TEXTURE RENDERED

The final table with texture, lighting and shadow.

In the second lesson we created a robot. It was quite a step up from a basic table, and we used a lot more functions and shapes that we didn’t know about before. I learnt how to create different shapes other than a cube by holding down the cursor on the object icon and selecting a different shape from the array of options that came up in the dropbox. That also worked for many other icons that were at the top. I used a Torus shape for the wheels for example, which is like a circular ring shape.

Screen Shot 2014-11-13 at 16.54.49The dents in the arms and legs were created by adjusting the textures on them. The LED light was also created by fine-tuning the texture applied. You could also adjust the reflection and other properties of the texture to make it resemble a material such as metal. I added a light and shadow and then saved the file by going to File in the top left hand corner.

robot BETA

Here’s a work in progress screenshot I took of the robot as I was still building it. I was still applying texture to the arms and legs. The light source and shadows have not been put in yet. I tend to do that at the end once the main objects are finished.

 

Here’s the final design:

robot

Leave a Reply

