Colour Adjustment Commands in Photoshop – Colour Collage

Computer, Digital Art, Editing, PC, Photoshop, U4_U37

In my Graphics class, I did an exercise that required me to experiment with the various colour adjustment commands in Photoshop. I had to find an already existing image that had a lot of colour in it to work with and edit.

Colour Adjustment Commands exercise BEFORE ND AFTER

The original image on the left is actually a cropped image of a photo taken by Davinsky on deviantART. I chose it because the umbrella display was very colourful and would be a good image to edit and play around with.

Before I opened the photo in Photoshop, I created a new canvas to work with that was split into even squares that would be easy to work with. I hit Ctrl + N on my keyboard to create a new canvas. In the settings, I set the dimensions to 10cm x 10cm with a resolution of 300 pixels/inch. I also set the colour mode to CMYK instead of RGB before clicking OK.

Once that was done, I created a grid. I did this by going to ‘Preferences’ under the ‘Photoshop’ menu tab at the top-left and clicked on ‘Guides, Grid and Slices’. I adjusted the grid settings to: Gridline: every 2 cm and Subdivisions: 1 and clicked OK. Once I finished editing my grid settings, I went to ‘Show Grid’ under the ‘View’ menu tab, as well as clicking on ‘Grid’ under ‘Snap To’. This will not only show my grid, but when ever I select a certain area on the image, the cursor will automatically snap to the gridlines. This will help avoid the trouble of selecting inaccurately when I edit the sections later on.

Screen Shot 2014-11-06 at 10.25.17

Once the canvas is ready,  I opened the image of the umbrellas and copy and pasted it into the new canvas. I adjusted the size by cropping it and transforming it so that the image filled the entire canvas. When rescaling it, I held down the Shift key to keep the aspect ratio of the image and avoid skewing it.

Before I did anything else, I created a new folder and called it ‘Adjustments’ to organise all of my edit layers into. This will make it easy to view and hide all the adjustments I make along the way.

Once everything was ready, I got the Rectangular Marquee Tool and selected a square in the grid. I then copied and pasted that section onto a new layer, isolating it. I put that layer into the ‘Adjustments’ folder and (whilst making sure I still had that particular layer selected,) then went to the Adjustments section above the Layers box to see how I could edit this particular section.

Screen Shot 2014-11-06 at 11.30.38

The various icons here show the many different ways of editing and adjusting your image. If you hover you cursor over an icon, it will tell you the name of the function. For example, if I selected the ‘Photo Filter’ icon, a drop box will open next to the ‘Adjustment’ section showing all the scales and drop-box options of that particular function. Before I started to change the settings, I clicked on the small icon at the bottom on the very left. This will clip the adjustments to the layer below it so that it only effected that particular layer, not the whole image. I played around with the settings quite a bit until I was satisfied with the preview on the image and left it.

Screen Shot 2014-11-06 at 09.53.46

I continued to do this for the rest of the squares using different filters and tools in the Adjustment box, seeing what effects I could make. (Posterize, Brightness and Contrast, Hue, Levels, etc)

The final collage came out like this:

Colour Adjustment Commands exercise

 

Leave a Reply

