Using the Select tools in Photoshop – Sci-Fi movie poster motifs

Computer, design, Digital Art, Editing, Photoshop, Poster Design, U4_U37

Some of  the first tools that were introduced to me in my Digital Design class were the various Select tools. Our task was to use these tools to help create some print designs for our Sci-Fi poster assignment. The designs had to incorporate examples of classic Sci-Fi motifs such as UFOs, aliens and space related images and should be simple enough for it to be converted into a screen-print design. The purpose of the poster was to advertise the BFI Sci-Fi Film Festival which was coming up, but they weren’t our real client.

robot screen print

One of my Sci-Fi designs that I edited using Photoshop. I then chose this design to screen print.

Firstly I went on Google Images and searched examples of a simple robot to find inspiration and get a good idea of what I want to edit. Then I found an image and opened it in Photoshop.

Screen Shot 2014-10-23 at 11.37.53

I then created a new layer on top of it and a layer below it. I filled the layer below with white using the bucket tool. This would act as a background layer.

Screen Shot 2014-10-23 at 11.41.08

I set the robot reference layer’s opacity down to around 30% so that I could easily see where the cursor was when I began selecting the outline with the polygonal lasso tool and ellipse tool, holding down the Shift key to select a perfect circle. I switched between the Shift key and Alt key when using the polygonal lasso tool in order to add and edit my selection. Once I selected the areas that I wanted to make into a basic silhouette, I went to the layer above the robot reference and filled in the selected region in black.

Screen Shot 2014-10-23 at 11.44.12

Screen Shot 2014-10-23 at 11.43.23

I added and took away some details that I wanted and didn’t want. For example, I added striped to the robot mouth and made the black outline gaps in my silhouette to define the features like the arms and headphone-like shapes. Once I was satisfied, I hit Ctrl + D to deselect my selected area and hid the robot reference layer underneath my silhouette to see the outcome.

Screen Shot 2014-10-23 at 11.45.20The design had to be black and white and fairly simplistic because I was going to screen print it later on. I sent this final design to the screen printing room to get it exposed onto a screen with photo-sensitive emulsion. Of course, I wasn’t allowed to do this actual part myself as a student – so it was given to one of the staff members to expose. Once it was ready to print, I went to the screen-printing workshop room and got printing!

I also did other designs as well as a robot to use later on when creating ideas for the poster composition.

Screen Shot 2014-10-23 at 11.59.11

Leave a Reply

